Director: Hon. Stephanie L. Davis Comanche County Judge Attorney at Law

Coordinator: Tricia Grimshaw

Asst. Coordinator: Ray Helberg


                                     Our Mission

To protect the citizens and property of Comanche County from destructive forces of natural and man-made disasters through a comprehensive program of training, mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.


Those activities which eliminate or reduce the probability of disaster.


Those activities which governments, organizations, and individuals develop to save lives and minimize damage.


Those actions that minimize loss of life and property damage and provide emergency assistance.


Those short and long-term activities which restore city operations and help return the community to a normal state.

When Comanche County faces an emergency situation, the Emergency Operation Center may be activated.  The Center works with appropriate city departments, as well as various county, state, and federal agencies to respond effectively and quickly to provide for the continuity of services for the public.

History of EM in Texas

Emergency Management in Texas dates to 1951, with the passage of the Civil Protection Act by the Texas Legislature.  The Texas Disaster Act of 1975 created the Governor's Division of Emergency Management (DEM).

The Emergency Management of today is a multifaceted comprehensive program for dealing with all large scale emergencies and disasters.  The Mayor of each incorporated municipality and the County Judge of each county is designated as the Emergency Management Director for each political subdivision.

As the Governor's designated agents, the County Judge, and mayors, may exercise the powers, on an appropriate local scale, granted the governor by the Texas Disaster Act of 1975.

They may also designate a coordinator (EMC) to serve as an assistant. Political subdivisions may establish inter-jurisdictional agreements to manage and mutually benefit from local emergency management programs.